A New Year an New. . .

So, I’m a little late with the whole New Year thing.  The truth is I like to do things in my own sweet time.  That doesn’t mean that I am a slow poke or that I am always mulling things over (although sometimes I do) or that I am constantly late (only sometimes!) or even that I miss deadlines (hardly ever!)  I just don’t like artificial starting points or finish lines. In fact, I don’t like anyone or anything telling me exactly how or when to do anything. It may be a delayed onset rebellious streak, but when an outside source says NOW is the time or THIS is the only way, my inner dialog says, “Oh, yeah??!! We’ll see about that!”  A result of this is that I hardly ever start anything on a Monday, and if I get an idea in my head, it may come to fruition a few weeks from now after lots of research and thinking, or it might happened RIGHT NOW.  It’s honestly hard to say.

On New Years Eve my mom went around the dinner table asking what everyone’s New Years Resolutions were, my husband decided to go vegan, my brother vowed to get a “real job,” his girlfriend is going to get grant money to finish her PhD project, and Mom said her list was to long to really get into, but included professional and personal goals.  When it came to my turn, I looked her dead in eye and said, ” You know full well I am NOT making any resolutions.” She laughed, but after nearly 30 years of my odd personality she knew enough not to push.

The next morning while walking the dog (I always make my calls while walking the dog), I was talking (um, ranting) about things I knew I needed to do in order to be successful in the future.  And she said, “Gee, Bo, those sound like resolutions to me.”

I snapped back, “They are not! It’s just crap I have to do!”

Token Regina picture

That conversation got me thinking. First of all, moms sure know how to push buttons even when you are nearly 30.  But also, what is the difference between a resolution and the “crap” that needs to get done?  And why do we let someone else decide when it’s time to take stock?

It’s true that it is nice to start a new year with a new calendar that is going to be filled with all of the fantastic things that are going to be accomplished, and noted in perfect penmanship and prose, but they sell calendars year round, in fact they are cheaper in the off-season.  I am just not interested in letting the “powers that be” lay down the time line for me, because it seems to me that in life there aren’t a whole lot of periods to mark the end of a complete sentence.  There are far more commas and semicolons and run ons.

Old cruddy beat up planner and nice new shiney planner.

So do I have goals for 2012? Of course – writing, business, yoga, running, being a better, more rounded person, etc, etc.  But did I set those goals because I knew that ball was going to drop? No. My goals arise out of being ready to grow personally and professionally, they are the next logical step in my growth, and they are, above all, the “crap” I am happily ready to do.  I have learned that letting the day of the week dictate when I should begin something can often lead to a false start.  I would much rather begin when I am good and ready so I have the energy and desire to see the project/change/whatever through.  I am so over starting on Monday and quitting by Tuesday.  Therefore I take stock and make goals on my own schedule.  So even if that process happens to coincide with the new year and no matter what my mother says, they are not New Years Resolutions. (So THERE!)

source: timessquareball.net

Leave a Reply

