Facebook is not a hobby

 

I need a hobby.  In July I finished two jam-packed years.  I went to school full-time, worked part-time, took yoga trainings, meditation retreats, got married, moved once and a few other things that do not come immediately to mind.  Suffice to say it has been busy.  With a schedule like that I was either doing something, on my way to doing something, avoiding doing something, or crashing on the couch.  There wasn’t any time that wasn’t spoken for, downtime was meant for studying or attempting to catch up on housework or bills or something. And like I said, there was a good amount of crashing.

Now I am done with school, I am a Licensed Massage Therapist working at a well established spa, teaching a little bit of yoga and have one more massage gig lined up. Oh yeah, and I am still working at that giant corporately owned coffee shop.  Still busy yes, but even with all that going on, I find myself with a little time on my hands.  I don’t have to study anymore so what is a girl to do with an extra hour here and there? Currently I spend a lot of time on Facebook and Netflix, neither of these are really enriching experiences, addictive yes, enriching or enlightening, not so much. 

So I think I need a hobby.  I know lots of people with hobbies.  My brother has a hobby.  Mom calls it his stamp collection, but in actuality, it’s a motorcycle.  My husband has a hobby, he plays the penny whistle.  Yup, the penny whistle, I am good with it until about 8 pm, and then I would like for him to find a new, quieter hobby such as collecting stamps.

Mat's "hobby"

I have lots of things that could be considered hobbies I suppose. I do yoga, I like to cook, I pretend to meditate, I run and like to take ballet classes but those don’t really fill that niche.  Mostly they seem like lifestyle choices, not ways to fill the odd hour or two.  And its only going to get worse.  I am literally on count down for that coffee shop job and not only will I have more time on my hands, I might actually be awake and functional.  Who knows what I will be able to do if I don’t have to wake up at 4:25am five days a week. 

I guess my hobby for right now is thinking about what my new hobby will be.  Heavens knows it will not be the penny whistle. Or a stamp collection.

This book is actually in my house. What's up Seventies?

Leave a Reply

