One Thing at a Time

The title of this post is a little misleading; I don’t remember the last time I was only doing one thing.  On the small-scale, I am writing and listening to my friend Cindy on the radio.  Big picture, I am in school, working, and have about a bajillion (real word!) things I am working on in life. 

From where I am sitting I can see the bulletin board where I’ve posted all of the things I am actively working on.  There are goals for how I want to live, exercise, eat, work, meditate, almost everything I could think of on one snowy afternoon this past winter.  It is meant to be a visual reminder of what I want in case I can’t remember (and on some days I can’t).  I keep it in the room I use most, in easy view from the couch, the computer and the TV. 

When I made the board, I put some things on it I was already doing, some things that I could not possibly do in the near future and some things that were just out of reach.  All of the things on it support each other – the hours of sleep, for example, are necessary for the amount of running and massage I want to do. The yoga supports those goals, too. 

So, with all of those things up there gently staring me in my face everyday, I decided to try a new tactic.  For once in my life, I did not say, “Starting Monday, I will do everything up there perfectly.”  Instead, I thought to myself, “Okay, let’s go for a run today and over the next month or two let’s get to the point where we are running 20 miles a week.”  And I did.  One goal, accomplished. 

It was daunting to think I was going to fit 20 miles, five hours of yoga, etc, etc, into a week.  But now from the other side of 20 miles, I can see some room.  Will I try to add in five hours of yoga this week?  Nope.  Maybe two.  And when I finish massage school will I massage 15 people the first week I become licensed?  Probably not.  Maybe five.  With each item I incorporate into my life, the more confidence I have that I get the next thing done, as well.  I know I can’t jump unless I have my feet firmly planted on the ground first.

Because even when you are shooting for the moon, the journey still happens one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

