The Engagement Episode

The Boy went away for ten days at the beginning of the summer and came back a new man.  Aside from the intangible changes that maybe only I would notice, he started doing the dishes.  He was doing dishes, cooking dinner (that I could eat!) walking the dog voluntarily, going out of his way to spend time with me, and trying his very hardest to clean the apartment in a meaningful way.  Not just the guy way, the ladies out there know what I mean.

Don’t get me wrong, he has always been an all-around wonderful guy, but it seemed like all of a sudden I had super boyfriend.  He also came home with a secret.  And although he was succeeding at being a really great raw cook (uncook?), he was FAILING at keeping a secret.  For the first two weeks after he came home I heard some variation of, “I know something you don’t know,” or, “I have a secret,” EVERY DAY.

My first though was that he was going to propose, but then after awhile, I thought, “There is no way he would hint at that secret quite so much.” So sometime in July, I convinced myself it was something else and I would just have to wait it out.  I mean, I had a clean house, a happy dog, and a full belly, if that was it, it was great.

Fast forward to last Wednesday.  We drove out to Provincetown, Cape Cod with intent to go on a whale watch and spend the day walking around town, window shopping and eating.  The only problem was that it was POURING!  It was so crummy out that they had canceled all whale watches for the day. Deflated, we walked down the street a little bit and ended up on the beach.  The rain let up a little so we watched the seagulls for a minute and talked about something, who knows what, and then Boy said, “You can have your surprise whenever you want.”

The new running joke was that the surprise was about the same as an Elusive Chocolate Moose, so I laughed and said, “I am so not in charge of this surprise,” and started to walk away.

He called me back, reached into his pocket and gave me this.

When I looked up, he was down on one knee and offering me a ring. To save the suspense, I said yes.

This is me shortly thereafter.  We went to really delicious South African restaurant for lunch to celebrate and beam in general.

We had peanut soup and champagne.

I of course ogled my new ring, which is perfect.  The rest of the day we wandered around P-town, celebrated, and talked.  I found out he bought the card on the way home from his trip in early July, had purchased the ring a full month before asking me, and he asked both my parents.  When the rain eased up enough to not ruin a camera, we went back to the beach and took this picture, for posterity.

The sum up is – we got engaged in the rain on a beach in P-town, and really, it couldn’t be any better than that.

2 Responses to “The Engagement Episode”

  1. alison grieveson Says:

    Bo & Craig, Congratulations! Sounds like a wonderful day. I’m so happy for you both. Hope he continues to be super boyfriend now that the secret is out. Congrats again.

  2. Cindy Says:

    AAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW ❤

Leave a Reply

