The Elusive Chocolate Moose

I have a confession.  I still believe in Santa Clause.  I have no cold hard facts disproving his existence.  I also still believe in the Tooth Fairy, especially since my very own brother saw her once (you will have to ask him for that story).  I also believe in Big Foot, and further more, I am certain we are related (size 11.  seriously.)

When I was a kid we used to go on hikes looking for the Elusive Chocolate Mousse.  We would tromp out into the the woods and wander around all day looking for the hard to find delicacy, chocolate moose droppings.  We knew what no one else knew, the best chocolate mousse came from the droppings of a woods dwelling creature.  This was serious business.  We would find clues all over, and sometimes even hoof prints.  We never really got close, but the idea of catching a glimpse (or getting some chocolate) kept us going all day.

So maybe, technically, I don’t really believe in Santa Clause, the Tooth Fairy, Big Foot, or the Elusive Chocolate Moose.  But I still like thinking about them.  They remind me that joy can lurk around every corner, if I choose to see it.  A bent twig can be a sign of a giant chocolate making creature.  Sometimes reality is harsh, but everyone was the ability to choose how they look at it.  Maybe they guy with road rage is out to get you, or maybe there is a bee in his car.  Perhaps the path you have to walked is long and scary, but maybe its lined with violets, and dandelions too.

We get to decided how we think. The world tells us to think things are hard and scary, and that we should be stressed and terrified all the time.  Media tells us we can’t ever be good enough for anyone, much less ourselves, and if we are not careful, we believe these things.  We go around scared,  trying to fix ourselves, so so maybe we won’t be so scared anymore, and by the end of the day thats all we have room in our minds to think about.

So here is my plan.  I’m going to go find me a giant Elusive Chocolate Mouse, and I am going to let him live in my brain, and remind me that I choose which thoughts stay, and which thoughts go, and if  I need him too, he will kick the thoughts that don’t serve me right out.

We all need reminders of who we are, especially when there is so much out there telling us who we should be.  I am a girl who likes to think there is magic in the world, and that I am a part of it.

(photo source: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-541028/How-giant-amplifiers-help-Mr-Moose-hear-miles.html)

2 Responses to “The Elusive Chocolate Moose”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    There is an elusive chocolate moose! I have seen his footprints! We should go looking for him again . . . that was soooo much fun!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Every time i hike, i still search for clues. I will never pass up a chance to spot the elusive chocolate moose!

Leave a Reply

